Running into a Small Inconvenience

Hey guys. Sorry but I need some advice. I’ve run into a small inconvenience for translating the Isekai Maou light novel. I normally translate by copying the text from a digital copy of the light novel through Booklive through the use of AGTH. Then I paste that text on a document on Google Drive and translate using Rikai-kun and various other sites. The problem is, I am now unable to rip the text for some reason. When I try to launch up AGTH and Booklive, the software for Booklive crashes and I can’t rip it. I am not sure why this happened. I am able to still get the text elsewhere but it is not as fast or accurate as this. I would download a copy of the light novel where it is in images, convert that into a big .pdf file in Adobe Acrobat, use the OCR on that, and pull the text from there. It isn’t all that accurate and sometimes just gets messy.

So I was hoping if someone could give me some advice on what I should do to get the text for this. Is this a problem that is only happening to me? Is there a better way to get the text? Anything is fine really.

Meanwhile, until I get a better way, I will be reverting to the way I did it before.

Well, thanks for reading my complaint about a small inconvenience that I’ve run into.

13 thoughts on “Running into a Small Inconvenience

  1. Are you using Windows 10? There seem to be several problems with AGTH after the last anniversary update. I just ran booklive + AGTH on Windows 7 without problems, so you could try setting up a VM with an older version of Windows, check if it works and then use the VM to rip the text.

    In case the VM approach does not work, you could try looking for a different text hook, there should be some more out there.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You can try to reset the Internet settings on your machine and check to see if there OS issues on your machine with an SFC scan via command prompt.(sfc /scannow)
    Past that, if its a software, you can always try to reinstall it/them.
    Also, stupid question…. have you tried rebooting yet???

    Like

  3. I don’t know if it can be used for your purpose cause it was originally meant for games but maybe you can try the programm:
    Interactive Text Hooker

    Like

  4. You could also try the older versions Chiitrans which has a built in AGTH Hook and translators.
    Or Visual Novel reader. But Chiitrans still has the best Romaji conversions.

    Like

  5. I run lots of virtual machines and the best os for this language stuff is still windows xp in japanese locale. Lol. I was barely able to get this stuff working under windows 8.1 and windows 10 is constantly breaking stuff with updates which i turned off. Im still running Windows 10 pre aniversary update on my less important desktop and windows 7 on my super important laptop.

    Like

  6. But of course first thing to do is DO A BACKUP OF EVERYTHING NOW! In case your oddities are caused by hardware faillure such as a dying hard drive. Next is to check the hard drive health and then you can try to do a system restore to a known working date. If yu have hardware faillure though immediately back up and replace.

    Like

  7. I did some testing and was not able to get AGTH running on an up to date Windows 10 and while ITH at least started, it crashed as soon as I tried to attach it to booklive. The problem is most likely that both tools are rather old and therefore slightly incompatible with the most recent Windows.
    But fortunately there is ITHVNR, a fork of ITH which is well maintained and compatible with Windows 10.
    Link: http://www.hongfire.com/forum/forum/hentai-lair/hentai-game-discussion/tools-and-tutorials/411001-ithvnr-ith-with-the-vnr-engine
    If ITHVNR does not start take a look at:
    http://forums.fuwanovel.net/topic/15538-ithvnr-not-working-in-windows-10/
    And simply copy the Japanese language file C_932.NLS form C:\Windows\System32 to C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ (make sure to copy not cut πŸ™‚ ).
    The problem here is that the application is 32-bit while the system is 64-bit and even thou the path is hard-coded Windows still expects the file to be in C:\Windows\SysWOW64\.

    Hope this will help.

    Like

Comments are closed.